Previous
Next

On the Road to BXL TOUR.

For the second consecutive year, the project brought young people together in Brussels to introduce them to cycling. The aim is to get them involved in preparations for BXL TOUR, taking part and finishing the race.

To support women’s sport, this year’s focus was on around twenty girls.

Various Brussels-based cycling groups provided training to give female entrants the theoretical and practical skills they need.

Amal Amjahid, the eight-time world champion in Brazilian Jiu-jitsu, joined field hockey champions Jill Boon and Emilie Sinia by offering a taste of their disciplines.

The City and organizers hoped to deliver an empowering and enjoyable experience so that participants would become more comfortable with cycling, a booming way of getting around and staying active, and discover other sports.

As well as being vital for physical and mental health, sport unites, breaks down barriers and brings us together. And so it makes an essential contribution to social inclusion and citizen participation.
The initiative also reflects a positive shift in local women’s sport.

On the Road to BXL TOUR.

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, ce projet rassemble des jeunes bruxellois.e.s dans le but de les initier à la pratique du vélo. L’objectif est qu’ils.elles s’investissent dans la préparation du BXL TOUR, y participent et terminent la course.

Cette année, afin de soutenir le sport féminin, les projecteurs se tournent principalement vers une vingtaine de jeunes filles.

À partir du samedi 7 août, diverses associations bruxelloises actives dans le domaine du vélo assureront le programme de formation qui donnera aux participantes les moyens théoriques et pratiques d’atteindre ce but.

Amal Amjahid, octuple championne du monde de Jiu-jitsu brésilien ainsi que Jill Boon et Emilie Sinia, championnes de hockey sur gazon, leur proposeront également une initiation aux disciplines qu’elles pratiquent.

La Ville et les organisateurs souhaitent offrir une expérience enrichissante et ludique aux participantes pour qu’elles se familiarisent avec le vélo, un moyen de mobilité active en plein essor et découvrent d’autres sports.

Outre être un levier important pour une bonne santé physique et mentale, le sport fédère, nivelle les disparités, rassemble. Il est donc essentiel qu’il soit au service de l’intégration et de la participation citoyenne.

Cette initiative témoigne également de l’évolution positive du sport féminin bruxellois.

on-the-road-bxl-tour